Google Chrome conducts background searches for compromised passwords

According to Google, the Chrome Safety Check feature will function silently to verify if passwords stored in the online browser have been hacked.

Additionally, Chrome will notify desktop users about the usage of extensions that have been identified as hazardous (removed from the Chrome Web Store), the most recent version of Chrome, or if Safe Browsing is activated to prevent access to websites listed as potentially risky by Google.

Chrome Group Product Manager Sabine Borsay said that the Safety Check feature for Chrome on desktop will now be executed automatically in the background. “These notifications will be displayed in the Chrome’s three-dot menu, enabling you to promptly respond.”

In addition, Google will expand the capabilities of Safety Check to automatically withdraw rights, such as the ability to access the users’ location or microphone, for websites that have not been visited for an extended period of time.

The Safety Check feature is being enhanced to identify websites that have a high amount of notifications and poor user engagement, enabling users to easily disable these notifications.

Introduced in December 2020, Safety Check verifies login credentials by cross-referencing them with those that have been compromised in data breaches. Additionally, it verifies the presence of vulnerable and easily predictable passwords that make users susceptible to brute-force attacks or password-cracking endeavors.